Winthrop Rockefeller Institute ROCKS!

Yesterday Staci Culver and I took a field trip to the Winthrop Rockefeller Institute (i.e. Conference Center) on Petit Jean Mountain, the location we feel is the best for our May Writers’ Retreat. To say that we were knocked out by the place would be a major understatement. I was totally IN LOVE. I would move there in a heartbeat. My biggest concern about the writing retreat is that security will have to physically toss me off the property at the end of our stay because I’ll not want to leave on my own. I’m serious! My writing muse was beating around my skull begging me to pull out some paper and a pen and write!

Staci and I took some pictures to share. Also I’ve linked to the website (above). Enjoy these pictures! They will only give you a very small taste of the wonder that is WinRock.

We will be staying in the President’s Lodge.

Entrance to President's Lodge

President's Lodge Great Room

President's Lodge Great Lodge View

President's Lodge Fireplace (with mini fire marshal)

If the weather is cold enough, we can have a fire here!

President's Lodge Patio

Now the next picture is blurry and awful, but it’s an outdoor fireplace. If the weather allows, we can have a fire out there!

Outdoor Fireplace

Waterfall outside the President's Lodge

Lake

There is a lake with lakeside tables. This ISN’T adjacent to the President’s Lodge but you can easily drive over there if you need to get away.

View from The Studio

The Studio is not up for rent as it’s used for “special guests” but it’s awesome inside.

I thought Staci was going to move in and never leave when she saw the inside!

I hope you enjoyed these! I wish the retreat were next month and not next year!

Thanks for Kristan Ramsey at WinRock with the great tour yesterday and the lunch!

Got questions for me or Staci? Ask away

About Cynthia D'Alba

After living away from Arkansas since I left for college at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, I have finally made it back to Hot Springs.

Posted on September 28, 2011, in Cyndi's Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. We are going to have a great retreat!

    Like

Leave a Reply

