Barbara’s In The House!

Hi Barbara! I’m so glad you made it by my place today. I know you’re blog-hopping your head off this month so it means a lot that you made time for me.

Hi, Cyndi!  It’s a pleasure to come and hang out with you.  Yes, I’m on a grand tour to share the news about my May Harlequin American Romance, A RANCHER’S PRIDE—which officially releases tomorrow.  The tour just started on Friday, so you’ve got me while I still have energy.  LOL  No, seriously, this tour is energizing me.  It’s great to be able to chat with readers.

I don’t know about your area of the country, but the weather around me last week was nuts. I am ready for some summer sun. So before we get to your wonderful new book, let’s talk summer. I think you’re out in the west somewhere, right? Are you near any big bodies of water?

 I’m in the Southwest but closer to desert than water.

What about boating or fishing? Do you do either?  I have a pontoon boat, so that’s what I do. Cruise around the lake with a “cold one” in my left hand!

Sounds relaxing.  I’m afraid I’m not much of a water person.  Or I should say, a “going out on the water” person.  I love to walk beside a lake or ocean, though.

I don’t get the appeal of fishing. What about you? You a fisherwoman?

No.  I was traumatized at a young age when my beloved pet goldfish slipped down the drain as I was changing the water in his tank.  Fortunately, my dad tore the drain apart, rescued him, and brought him back to life.  True story!  I’ll never forget it.  My dad’s forever a hero.

But that took care of me ever wanting to see a fish out of water…unless it’s on a plate, broiled, and spritzed with lemon juice.

Do you keep a suntan year round?

 No, I don’t. 

 (You know, by the law of averages, I’ll eventually say yes to one of your questions.  LOL)

(Sure, but I’m learning so much about you I didn’ t know!)

 I’m sun-sensitive, so the sun is a big no-no for me.  (Double “no” that time!)  I cover up any time I’m anywhere near a hint of daylight.

Tanning is tough for me too. My pasty white legs glare in the sun! And I cannot force myself to lay out in the sun to tan. Back in my younger days I used to go to a tanning bed but I would only put my legs in, desperately trying to get some color. Didn’t work. Did you ever do that tanning beds? That must be how it feels to be a vampire when the lid shuts on the coffin.

 LOL  Great analogy!  And as I’m still on a roll… 

 No, I have never tried a tanning bed.  I won’t turn our chat into a soapbox, but rumor has it they’re not good for people.  Enough said.

 What I did do, when I was a teenager, was go up on a hot tar roof, slather myself with baby oil, and bake in the sun.  For hours.  If I’d known then, what I know now…

Me too! Baby oil! We might has well slathered on Crisco shortening!

So pretend it’s a hot summer day. You walk into your kitchen to grab something for that thirst eating at you. What did you grab? Tea? Coke? Diet Coke? A nice, cold beer?

(Sigh)  I’m beginning to feel like the most boring person on the planet. 

I drink water. 

I love water.  It quenches my thirst, fills me up, has zero calories, and doesn’t stain if I spill it on myself.  Can’t beat that!

What’s your favorite “Man, it’s too hot to breath” outfit? Mine is a University Of Arkansas muscle shirt and a pair of denim shorts at least one size too big. Oh, and no shoes.

One of my husband’s old button-down cotton shirts that comes down almost to my knees, ancient denim shorts, and flipflops.  Only indoors.  We’ve already discussed that.  😉

What is your naughty little dessert secret? Ice cream? Pie? Cake?

All of the above!

But as we’re talking summer, I’ll admit it’s ice cream.  Chocolate-chip mint almost always, a double scoop if I’m really feeling the need.  I can eat it every single day when the weather’s warm.  Otherwise, I don’t even think about it.

Let’s talk about A Rancher’s Pride. I hope you got a chance to read my review yesterday of A RANCHER’S PRIDE.  One of the scary things about reading books written by friends is when I don’t really fall in love with the book and I have to dig deep to find something nice to say. In the case of A Rancher’s Pride, no such problem. I LOVED this book. LOVED it. WOW, what a tortured hero (bless his heart!)

Yes, I had a chance to read the review—and I heaved a sigh of relief.  I’m sure it’s much worse for the reviewer having to comment on a friend’s book, but it’s pretty nerve-wracking for the reviewee, as well.  No author wants to discover the hard way that a friend doesn’t like her book.  Luckily, neither of us had a problem!  😉

Thanks a bunch for the glowing review!  I’m thrilled that you enjoyed the story so much.

 Sam’s daughter, age four…literally dropped into his life without warning or preparation. Where did you get the idea for her deafness?

My goal at first was to take a popular story idea—a character unexpectedly having to care for a child—and give it a twist.  I thought, what could add more conflict to an already heart-wrenching situation than to have the character unable to communicate with the child?  That was my basic idea.  As for how I came up with a deaf character…see my next response.

You did a great job explaining the American Sign Language hand movements. Do you know how to sign?

Finally, a resounding YES!  In my “other life,” I’m an American Sign Language interpreter.

Thanks for the compliment about the descriptions.  I try to make my characters come to life through dialogue.  That was no different for me with this book, even though some of the conversations take place in sign.  It was very important to me to be true to the characters.  To do that, I had to describe the signs–yet try to keep the descriptions from interfering with the story flow.  I hope I succeeded!

The ending was tear-jerking wonderful!

I’m glad you felt that way.  I’ll admit, I went through more than a few teary-eyed moments while writing this book, and the ending definitely was one of them.

Speaking of endings…

Before we go, I just wanted to say thanks again for inviting me to chat with you today.  I’ve enjoyed it and look forward to comments and questions from your readers.

I’d also love to see them along the way on my blog tour.

~~~

Readers, you can find Barbara online at her web site and blog:  www.barbarawhitedaille.com where you can check out her Virtual Blog Tour schedule for A RANCHER’S PRIDE.

You can also reach her via Facebook and Twitter
Barbara will be giving away a book to one of the commenter here or at yesterday’s review. Leave a comment at both blogs for a double chance to win!

A RANCHER’S PRIDE releases on Tuesday, May 3. Here is where you can get your own personal copy

B & N | Indiebound | Borders | Amazon | Powell’s |Harlequin

Thanks Barbara for stopping by. I loved getting to know you better.

Until next time!

About Cynthia D'Alba

After living away from Arkansas since I left for college at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, I have finally made it back to Hot Springs.

Posted on May 2, 2011, in Author Interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Great interview. My complexion is also pale and too much sun isn’t good for me. And mint chocolate chip ice cream is my favorite. We’re like twins.

    I’m buying your book today. I’m eager to read it!

    Like

  2. I love that Barbara’s in the house! You know what that means, Cyndi. You don’t have to hide the jewelry. Plus, she’s written an awesome book in A Rancher’s Pride. Prepare to read in one sitting 😉

    Like

  3. What a great interview. Thanks for sharing it with us. I can’t wait to read the book.

    Like

  4. Barbara, I love the goldfish story. Yes, your dad is a hero! Interesting facts about you. I Jew you’d throw chocolate in there. 🙂 Anxiously awaiting A RANCHER’S PRIDE

    Like

  5. I thought I “knew” Barbara (having been on a goals loop with her for years) but BOY! was I wrong.

    Thanks for a fun interview and for letting me see the “real” Barbara behind the author. 🙂

    Like

  6. What a fun interview. I downloaded A Rancher’s Pride to my Kindle last night. It’s my vacation read for next week.

    Like

  7. Hi Barbara and Cindi – love the interview questions! I’m a blonde as well and the sun is a huge no for me. Although the idea of slipping around the lake in a pontoon boat with a cold one would definitely hit the spot!

    Barbara, I’ve always loved your heartwarming characters. Looking forward to meeting these ones!

    Congrats on your success.

    Like

    • Dale – thanks–you’re a sweetheart.

      I’m haven’t been blonde since my hair darkened around age 9. 10?

      But I was white-blonde when I was younger and very fair-skinned.

      I forgot to mention that when Cyndi talked about her pasty white legs. LOL

      Barbara

      Like

  8. Hi Barbara and Cyndi,

    Terrific interview! I’m another who’s sun-sensitive–break out in huge patches of rashes.

    Your book sounds intriguing, Barbara. I’m looking forward to reading it.

    Like

  9. You girls work well together. Chocolate chip mint, hmmm. Interesting. Can’t wait to read this book.

    Like

  10. Mary – hmmm…now you’ve got me thinking of running to the store. LOL

    Cyndi and I had fun.

    And I hope you, too, like A RANCHER’S PRIDE.

    Barbara

    Like

  11. What a great interview, and see? I’ve learned more about you both. Now, important topics–I hear Klondike has a new mint-chocolate-chip ice cream bar. I’m just sayin’….

    Barbara, the book is going to reap you so many rewards (yes, I already got a chance to read an advance copy!). Can’t wait to get my own copy with a cover and everything! And Cyndi, congrats on the sale. Couldn’t happen to a more deserving and talented author.

    Like

Leave a Reply

