Scenes From a Laundromat

I’m not currently at home, so laundry day means going to a public laundromat.

(which begs this side question…If a sock, or shirt or undies drop on the floor while moving from washer to dryer or from dryer to basket, does the five second rule come into play?)

Anyway, I washed 2 complete sets of sheets, 8 pillowcases, 2 full blankets, one bedspread, 6 wash clothes, 2 hand towels, 5 towels, dog bed cover, couch cover and a rug all in ONE FREAKING BIG MACHINE!! It’s called Big Bertha. Washes 12 loads at one time and to tell you the truth, there was plenty of room left when I was finished putting items in! Took 3 dryers just for that one washer.

While I was loading, I was doing “research,” and if you’re a writer, you know what I’m talking about. I was listening in on conversations around me.  Here’s my favorite…

Woman is complaining to younger guy that some guy offered her $500-$600 to sleep with him. She told him how insulted she was and that if he’d have taken her out to dinner, she’d have slept with him but to offer her money was wrong. When she told her sister the story, the sister wanted the guy’s phone number!

Love my laundromat days.

Until Next Time.

About Cynthia D'Alba

After living away from Arkansas since I left for college at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, I have finally made it back to Hot Springs.

Posted on March 1, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. So what the lady really meant was, she didn’t like the form of payment. Cash was cold; a dinner was a socially acceptable payment. lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

