A Visit with BRAVA Finalist Dale Mayer

Today, I’m happy to welcome Dale Mayer to my little corner of the world. I’ve known Dale for a couple of years as she and I share a goals group (GO GIAM!) I have been impressed weekly with what she gets done…the editing, the fresh words, blogging, and raising four boys!  Since Dale became a finalist in the BRAVA Writing With The Stars contest, she’s written many many blogs on more topics that I could dream up in a year! So I thought it might be fun just to get to know her better.  She’s promised to drop by today between bouts of skiing!

Here is how Dale describes herself (from her website)

Freelance writer Dale Mayer lives in the beautiful Okanagan valley in British Columbia, Canada.  She’s multi-pubbed in nonfiction but her true love is the stories that weave through her mind. For the past nine years, she’s written around the daily responsibilities of being a single mother of four and still squeezes in time to produce new fiction manuscripts each year.

In fiction, she writes taut psychological suspense with romance and paranormal elements.  She has recently branched out into both mystery and urban fantasy books for young adult with the occasional vampire book thrown in just for fun.

Welcome Dale! Congratulations on being in the BRAVE contest finals.

How did you hear about the BRAVA contest? I heard about it on one of the contest websites.  But I only heard about it a few days before it closed.  Tuesday’s Child had been through several contests, came second and third several times.  I had filed it away for ‘ever’ until I saw the contest and thought what the heck…at least it was in submission ready state.

Was Tuesday Child written specifically for BRAVA? Nope – answered above.

Did you tell anyone you were entering, or did you wait until you got the call to tell? No.  I don’t think I told anyone.  I submitted so close to the closing date I just forgot about it until I received the phone call about a month later.  I couldn’t tell ANYONE until Brava announced the finalist at the beginning of September.

One aspect of this contest is posting various elements of the story and having an industry professional comment. What’s it like to have your work so publicly critiqued? Gulp! It’s hard!  It’s bad enough to send my work to my mentor, Cynthia Eden, but to then have the judge trash it where everyone can read it…well…let’s just say I try not to let it discourage me from writing.  Thankfully the comments from people appear to be mostly positive for everyone as well.  It’s heartwarming to receive comments from the voters.  It helps to make up for the judges.  At least the judges seem to be fairly hard on everyone.

Before the BRAVA contest, had you entered many contests? How many? How many have you won? Entered at least a dozen – was a finalist many times – have NEVER won – with any manuscript!  How sad is that?

That’s enough of the serious stuff. Let’s learn more about Dale, the person.

If you were a dessert, which one would you be and why? Uhh chocolate, duh – is there anything else?  Besides I’d be everyone’s favorite!

Tell us your favorite joke. Can I get back to you on this? There are soooo many to sort through. And this is a public blog right, so my usual list won’t do.  Lol.

What is your most interesting quirk? Can I get back to you on this? There are soooo many to sort through – Not going to let me off a second time huh?  Okay so my weirdest quirk is waking up just after the timeframe when my kids are supposed to go to bed – then I always catch them in the act of reading or gaming etc – even though they’re old enough neither of us care!  They still get choked at me for it and I’m the one losing sleep – geesh.  You’d think they’d go to bed early so I could get a good night’s sleep!  Lol.

What is the first thing you do when you type THE END on a story? Collapse!  Then I start a new one!

When you sit down in a bar, what do you order? A glass of white wine if life is good and a sledgehammer if it’s a normal day!

If you had a super-power, which one would you want? Sonic speed – so I could accomplish so much more!  Second choice?  X-ray vision so I can answer that age old question of boxers or briefs myself!

If you walked into your yard and you saw a snake, what’s the first thing you’d do? Say, ‘hi’ and pick it up and put it back in my garden!  Love critters of all kinds.

What is your favorite television show? Anything forensic or crime based.  Deeper, darker, more true to life the better!

Which television show should be removed from the air immediately? ALL soap operas.  Yuck and double yuck!

David Blane or Houdini? David Blane – at least he’s alive and well 🙂

Coke or Pepsi? Coke but only if it’s comes heavily mixed with rum!

Vacations – Sand or Snow? Sigh, sand would be delightful but as a skier they tend to be snow!

If you had to write a hero with either bad breath, plummer’s crack or beer gut, which one would you choose to “reform?” Oh gross to all of them – the bad breath I suppose.  The other two choices took years to develop and would need more than one book to ‘reform.’ Shudder.

When men are interviewed, someone always asks boxers or briefs. So to not be accused of sexual discrimination…thong, bikini or grannies? Bikini all the way, including on the beach!  Thongs = wedgies – gross!

Thanks for visiting!

To everyone – please take a minute, go here, and read the BRAVA entries and VOTE!

 

 

 

About Cynthia D'Alba

After living away from Arkansas since I left for college at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, I have finally made it back to Hot Springs.

Posted on December 22, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Good morning Cynthia! I wanted to start off by saying thanks for having me here today! You asked some great questions that were fun to answer.

    I hope you’re having a great day getting ready for Christmas – as I’m packing and getting ready to go skiing!

    Like

  2. I always learn something new about you Dale. I think I’d have chosen bad breath, uck. That’s the one that affects me the most.

    Enjoy the skiing and keep going to the next round.

    Like

  3. Hi Marley,

    Wasn’t this a fun interview. Like who’d actually think up questions like these – Duh Cynthia of course.

    Thanks so much for stopping by and I hope you have an awesome Christmas.

    I’ll think of you when I skiing! And thanks so much for vote of confidence in the contest!

    Dale

    Like

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention A Visit with BRAVA Finalist Dale Mayer « Cyndi's World -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Dale Mayer » Guest blogging today

Leave a Reply

