I Am So Mad At Verizon Cellular

UPDATED December 17: Called Verizon customer service (*611) and filed complaint about local store. At the same time, ordered new phones and no, I did not pay the $20 “early upgrade fee” the local store tried to charge me! Very nice person at customer service named Kaylee. Good job Verizon hiring that gal. šŸ™‚

 

I am SO mad at Verizon cellular right now. I need to tell SOMEONE, so you guys get to hear the story.

A couple of week ago, I got an ad from Verizon…

You’re Eligible for a New Phone at The Discounted Rate!

I had gotten a new Blackberry Storm almost 20 months ago. I haven’t been thrilled with this phone from day one, so when this ad came and said I could upgrade, I was thrilled.

Last week, my husband and I went into the local Verizon store to look at the Droid X, which is what I wanted. The price was $299.99 with a $100 rebate card and a free second phone of equal or lesser value. My husband (a major fisherman) needs a waterproof phone. I can never reach him when he fishes because he keeps his phone tucked away to keep it dry. Motorola has a waterproof phone that is ideal and less than the Droid. So the salesmanĀ (Arthur) tells us that sure, we can buy the Droid X and get this waterproof phone as our second phone. Great! Since my parents are buying this phone for my Christmas present, I needed to bring Mom back with me so she can pay for it.Ā 

Today Mom and I went back to Verizon and found Arthur. (I made a point of finding him because they are on commission and IĀ figured he should get the sale.) Told him what I wanted (Droid X and Motorola Barrage). He goes to the back, gets the phones, and activates them. Then he tells me I have $150 in rebates. I was confused. The Droid X has only a $100 rebate. He says the phone I’m getting for my fisherman husband has a $50 rebate. But, I explain, it’s a free phone. He has to charge me $50 and then I get a rebate for $50. Nuts, but okay.

I asked to look over the receipt. There is an extra $20 charge. What’s this? It’s an “early upgrade fee.” But nowhere does that ad say I have to pay for an early upgrade. It says I’m eligible for upgrade. I refuse to pay and tell salesman I want to talk to the manager. Arthur (salesman) goes away and comes back alone and says I have to say. I tell him I want to talk to manager. He doesn’t want me to talk to the manager. I march around the corner and find “Jay”, the manager. I tell him I want a $20 credit on my account for that charge. He just says no. He says that Arthur told me I had to pay for early upgrade. I tell Jay that I was never told that…today or last week. Arthur has lied to the manager (and lies to my face) about that little fact. It seems if I wasn’t told about the charge, then I can’t be charged. I wasn’t told , but the Jay the manager doesn’t really care. He says I have to pay. Ā I tell him…Look buddy. I have over $500 worth of phones and extras sitting on the counter. I want a $20 credit or I’m walking. He says no.

I walked.

IDIOT manager Jay. ! He lost a $500 sale over a $20 credit.

Lying salesman lost commission. I refuse to give him any money (i.e. commission) when he lies..to me and to the manager.

I refuse to do business with the local office. When I buy phones in the future, I will only use the online site.

I just went to the online site and Arthur-the-liar has my account screwed up. It says I have a new phone (it reset the annual upgrade calendar.) ARGH!!!

So I see some phone conversations upcoming.

If I find out who the regional manager is, I will report these two clowns.

About Cynthia D'Alba

After living away from Arkansas since I left for college at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, I have finally made it back to Hot Springs.

Posted on December 16, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’ve seen this attitude in numerous businesses recently. They don’t give a damn about one customer because they have twenty more lined up to take the one’s place. It sucks. I don’t know what the answer is, but I think taking names and proving your point via documentation is the only way to go.

    Like

  2. Bravo, Cyndi. It’s sad when salespeople do this. Even sadder that management has no clue what damage their decisions make. I hope you tagged this post with the keyword Verizon. Maybe one of their higher ups will see it and find you.

    It just goes to show–Mercury in Retrograde. Beware.

    Like

  3. Mercury in Retrograde, huh? Oh I believe it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

